Janey's Journal

By janeypud

Feels like Home

I love this pub. It's been a big part of my life. It's where I started drinking far earlier than I should have. Its where I first snogged the man I went on to marry. Its where they did the best cheese and chips in Newport.

Its where I've spent some of my best times with best friends.  Where I've laughed till I cried, and cried till there's no tears left.
I worked here for 7 years and loved every minute. I had to give up, the madness dictated that, and as a result I'd not been in the pub for a very long time. Funny how you can suddenly get anxious about going somewhere that was such a big part of your life :-(

I took a deep breath and walked in last night. It was exactly the same (apart from the new carpet). The same people, sitting in the same seats, drinking the same drinks. It was reassuring. And it seems I've been missed. I was hugged and kissed and welcomed like a long lost friend.

It felt like going home. I'll be going back. Soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.