The Life of Bri

By bri

Glenshee

Early start to get the dogs walked, and then up to Glenshee for 9.

Although I was planning on touring, I was going to be on my own and short of time , so wanted to go somewhere familiar with guaranteed snow, rather than going off on an explore.

Lessons Learned:
1. Always bring your goggles to ski in Scotland. If there's not a gale blowing ice in your face, then it will be too sunny to be without
2. The uphills were good, if a bit slow. I'm not hill-fit enough.
3. The downhills varied between "yes I've got it" and "no, I'm atrocious" - biased towards the latter. I'm blaming my skis, obviously.
4. I am definitely not ski-fit. My thighs were burning after every descent. There seems to be no exercise to prepare your thighs for telemarking - so must just ski more often!
5. It is possible to get in a half-days skiing and be back home by 2.30 - must do this more often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.