Your Radio

A late Blip tonight as I have just returned form a radio show.

I spent this evening at the studios of Your Radio in Dumbarton during the Vinyl Frontier show.

The reason I was there was that my friend won a competition to have his choice of 15 oldies played on the show and to talk about his reasons for the selections.

As his favourite song is Agadoo by Black Lace you will understand that I feared the worst!

However Stevo is not daft so he made sure his collection of 15 had a chance of winning. He pitched in with 6 of the heavy hitters which more or less guaranteed that he would be taken seriously - The Beatles, The Stones, Led Zeppelin, Dylan, Bowie and Elvis. Not the obvious tracks maybe, but when you have these 6 you won't go far wrong. Then he didn't do too badly with the likes of Mott The Hoople, Manfred Mann and a seasonal offering from Slade. The choice of The Raspberries was an interesting one as I had never heard of them until tonight. But I'm afraid he spoiled it a bit for me with Chicory Tip, Sweet and Clifford T Ward. But then it was his choice and not mine! And at least there wasn't an Agadoo in sight!!

You may wish to think about which 15 tracks you would have selected.

Thanks also to the excellent D.J. Mike McLean and his co-presenter Little Jim.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.