The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Blackbird In The Rain

What a gloomy, dark day it has been. We are only a couple of days away from the winter solstice now, and thankfully, the days will start to lengthen again.

Photo opportunities were few and far between, and all of them had to be taken from behind the patio doors!

I wanted to blip a blackbird today, as we have had a definite influx of them in the past few days, along with the Siskins, Bramblings and Chaffinches I mentioned in yesterdays blip. I have gone from sporadic visits by males and female blackbirds, to squabbles on the lawn, as they hunt for tasty morsels by flicking over the leaf litter. They also hoover up some of the bird seed that falls from the feeder.

I had a record number of Reed Buntings on the lawn today. There were six, three females and three males.

Woody dropped in for five minutes too to share lunch with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.