lightscape*

By tolu

Mulling over mulled wine...

This is the first christmas that Kai and I will be spending alone. Much as I don't regret choosing the divorce, the run up to this festive season has felt rather sad and lonely. It is difficult not to get sucked into the myth that everything should be perfect, not least that I should be able make it christmas-card perfect for Kai!

But as many of you blippers have articulated far better than I, when real life crashes in on the ideal it makes you realize what you really value, that what you are left with, though it looks sparse, is actually what really matters.

So, on Christmas Day this year, I hope I can remember to be grateful beyond words for what is right in front of me; for being alive, for being healthy, for a wonderful healthy full-'o-beans little boy, and for all the dreams and aspirations still to be realized in the future.


Thank you for getting yesterdays blip to the spotlight!


.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.