The Murk

I quietly left the house, disturbing none of those still asleep. At the foot of the path I turned and paused and looked at the place I had known as my home these past twenty years. Already it seemed to me to be of a different world. I had left a lifetime ago. When would I return? Would my hand be old, my eyesight dimmed, when I would stand here again?
Idle speculation! I turned and started down the road towards the small harbour.
The light mist turned wetter and the sea breeze caught my nostrils. The small sloop was there as expected, ready to sail. I threw my bag onboard and the ferryman grasped my arm and steadied me as I stepped across. 'All set?', he asked with a twinkle in his eye. I nodded. 'Take her out, Mr Mackay, take her out'.
The Office Christmas Party awaits! Across the darkening water I swear I could hear music but it was soon lost in the sound of the sea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.