Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Orange dragonfly

After the focus issues of the last two sessions, I re-evaluated the camera focus with some tripod test shots last night and now realize that the problem that I identified several weeks ago and thought that I had resolved, still exists. On close-up, I have to lean in to the shot a few millimeters, about a quarter inch, something that I had stopped doing. It is difficult to judge, but taking plenty of shots and playing the camera like a trombone should solve the problem.

It does seem like a strange problem being an SLR. The only explanation that I have is that the two diopter problem in my camera eye which has been adjusted for at the eye piece, is giving me a false focal plane. I could probably eliminate the problem by adjusting the eye piece back to neutral diopter, but I wouldn't be able to see the focal plane then anyway. Is anyone else having issues like this?

Session started at 06:30 this morning and in thirty minutes I had close to a hundred shots, so I called it a day. I collected more shots per subject than usual, not wanting to be disappointed for the third day running. I collected images of a yellow bug, ladybird style but not, a stink bug (I think) of which there are several varieties on the mimosa bush, two dragon types and the green throated lizard again.

I was very happy with the processing, having sharp shots of each of the subjects. One of the dragons was the green sabina Sabina, but I went with the orange as I think it is a new one, although very similar to the dragon posted 26th October but the abdomen markings are quite different. I didn't capture the sparkle of the dragon, as I had just been attempting a sulfur butterfly and had adjusted to under expose for the bright subject (which eluded my lens) and forgot to re-adjust. I was still happy that it was a good representation though.

Both the bug shots would have made good blips, but a dragon always trumps a bug. I spotted the lizard through a convenient hole in the bush, so was able to get within two feet without disturbing him. Definitely would have been blipped if not recently covered only two days ago.

I was quite relieved after today's work and was contemplating another excursion, but the sky is clear and the sun is ferocious even though as I type this, it is only 09:30am. So I'll just watch some DVD's and dream of a Nikon D3X, one day I'll own you baby.

Update - Pantala flavescens (Fabricius, 1798) - same as 26th October blip.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.