Barking

By Barking

Another dead flower

And so continues my obsession with things that are no longer of this world.

Firstly, I want to say thank you to Ben for helping me with my laptop over the past few days. You are a star.

On my way home from sewing I saw a dead cat in the road. It made me sad. Then a little way along the road, a white dog ran across in front of the oncoming cars. I slowed to a crawl but drove on.

Thirty seconds later, I squealed around the roundabout (sorry about that, Cousteau) and raced back to where I'd last seen the dog. He was cowering in a driveway. Using my best 'Dog Whisperer' skills and 'Calm assertive' techniques, I coaxed the poor wee thing over to me. Well, the dog biscuit in my hand might have helped. He sniffed my hand, licked my fingers and then took the biscuit gently from me. He was shaking.

I managed to slip Cousteau's lead onto his collar and then walked along the road from whence he had come to a lampost so that I could see his tag. No address but a council tag. I thought I was going to have to take him home with me and call the council, but popped up a driveway first to ask some people if they knew who he belonged to. As it happened, he belonged to them and they thought he was inside. They thanked me and took him in.

My good deed for the day and I feel quietly happy that I turned around to go find him. One dead pet on the road was too much for one evening and I didn't want another on my conscience.

Cousteau's been very interested in my trousers ever since.

Night all.

*******************************************************************

Dark

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.