Chiara

By Chiara

Ricotta cookies

[Updated on 12/23]

I got this lobster from a white elephant gift exchange at a work Christmas party. The poor thing was on the verge of death in a Christmas-themed box. When I claimed it from my coworker, I quickly Googled different ways to rescue a lobster from the pot. I brought it home, and with the help of my dear Jeff, put it in a cooler with cold salt water. Within seconds, the lobster "came back to life". It was moving a lot, and I knew that I did the right thing by not cooking it.

Lobsters can live up to 50-100 years, and this one was maybe 5 years old. When it fully gained consciousness, it would scramble back in fear every time I came near it. Poor thing. I contacted several aquariums and organizations in the area, and an animal welfare group said they would take it because they knew a rescue that might be interested. So the next day I went there and dropped it off. I hope the lobster is still alive and well.

I know that rescuing a grocery store lobster is kind of crazy, but I was surprised by the amount of positive feedback I got from my friends and coworkers. PETA emailed me with instructions on how to properly release it at sea (if only I lived on the east coast...!), and the Shedd Aquarium contacted me to tell me that they would have gladly taken the lobster if their lobster section wasn't down for repairs. They also gave me a link to a local guy who rescues sea creatures.

Morale of the story? You don't have to live near the sea to save a lobster's life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.