a town called E.

By Eej

The Murder on the Links*


As we crossed the parking lot to throw ourselves in the masses of other shoppers at Aldi I noticed birds flying overhead. A considerable amount too.
"Is there a park behind here?" I asked, not too familiar with the layout of Kalamazoo. The Beloved said there was a golfcourse. I looked up and to the right - more birds, crows as I now saw, flew over and in the distance I saw more and more.
A roost!
Without even a second thought, or a wrap of my scarf, I grabbed my camera and off I went. Poor Beloved.
As I walked I could hear many, many more crows flying overhead and I could see, still a while away, the treetops covered with crow-shaped leaves. What a sight, oh, what a sight that was.
There were masses congregating on the grass as well, like they were having a picnic.

I spend so much time there I froze into a solid icicle but it was well worth it as I have never in my life seen such a spectacle. Or heard such, as crows always seem to have a lot to say.
This photo doesn't do it any justice and only shows maybe a third of the murder, but I had no idea how to go about it. I couldn't get too close, and there was a lot of obstructing shrubbery (or in golf terms: the rough)
Still, this is one of those occasions where the photo is only meant to trigger the memory - I'm good :)


Unfortunately things went pearshaped rather dramatically in Meijer after all the excitement. Homesick + overpriced dropjes and stroopwafels + "I'll be home for Christmas" = one sad, inconsolable Erica. Onwards and upwards: at least I got over yesterday's bug!



*thank you, Agatha Christie. I never thought I'd be able to use one of your booktitles for my Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.