Mr Heron on Boxing Day 2011

Took the new little Ixus for a blipwander along the Water of Leith just now, and spied Mr Heron at his usual spot on the weir. This was taken with the 10x zoom function on the camera, and it is surprisingly clear in the circumstances. I haven't actually bought a camera, as opposed to a camera phone or mobile device for about 7-8 years, and the last one I bought - a Kodak - although dinky in size terms was terribly disappointing in the pictures it took, even in the best possible light. I don't think I'm going to be disappointed by this one, and anyway I shall still be interspersing it with pictures taken on the Arc.

We had a chilled time yesterday consuming too much food and drink. In particular on the drink front, I was astonished by the amount of wine we consumed during the day, whilst remaining remarkably sober. Today may be a little more moderate, although not necessarily on the food consumption side as my son is about to start preparing his speciality roast chicken, which has had some exciting things shoved up its bottom.

Today seems to be mainly about sitting around, with mellow jazz in the background, reading our respective books/kindles. It's not as such a 'celebration' of anything, but I think it's a much needed respite - certainly for me - from the rigours of going to work every day, and feeling pretty stressed about work also most weekends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.