Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Metallic ladybird

My! The gruesome spider shot was popular, easily the most comments in a one day period for me, even made spotlight. I haven't read the comments yet, so maybe it wasn't popular and just lots of people complaining, I love surprises. Something of a contrast today, thought you could do with calming your nerves a tad.

Another great day at the common. It was over cast so I did not start until 08:00 and stayed for eighty minutes. At one stage I thought I was going to max out my memory card, the shots were coming thick and fast. All the usual suspects were in attendance, but I did pick up images of four new subjects: a boring brown spider, the metallic ladybird type bug, a black bug with a red head and a BIG wasp with orange legs.

Unfortunately I only managed two shots at the wasp. I failed to nail the focus in the first shot and the second shot it was airborne and blurred. The red headed bug was very good but the unique coloring of the ladybird wins the blip spot today, Beating down some stiff competition from three separate green dragonflies and a green throated lizard, both of which have been blipped before.

On the St Andrews cross spider web, the cone head hopper was gone, there was a large bug half consumed, a 7 spot brown butterfly and a wasp moth struggling in the web. Like I mentioned in the comments yesterday, this spider eats well.

I did pick up a few images of the hairstreak butterfly with it's wings open, a rare shot. I have noticed that there is not the variation of dragon species that I found at the grove, so far I have only identified three, the green Sabina, bright red and orange. I guess if I want more I will have to find a location closer to the stream. Still plenty to shoot here before I start looking.

Update - chrysolina herbacea - leaf beetle.

Beagle1831 blipped the exact same bug.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.