The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Christmas Happiness Is ...

... A sky full of skeins of Brent Geese!

A full day out birding on The Wash. We've spent half of the day watching the various geese coming and going at the RSPB reserve at Frampton Marshes.

You really haven't lived until you have seen a sky literally full of geese coming into land. The noise has to be heard to be believed. Every so often a flock of thousands of Golden Plovers would rise in the air trying to escape various predators.

It really wasn't the weather for good photography, very dull and overcast, so I will only have a few bits and pieces to share when I get home. I think I got some nice shots of some Skylarks from the 360 hides. We also managed to see the Smew in amongst tens of thousands of geese, no easy task!

One of the birds I really wanted to tick whilst I was in Lincolnshire was the Fieldfare, no problems in Frampton, the hedgerows were dripping with them, easily 50+ of them. We also saw a lovely mixed flock of finches and buntings. I'll have to check my photo, but I am hoping there were Lesser Redpolls, Linnets and who knows the Lapland Bunting seen there this week, all would be year ticks.

From Frampton we popped back in Freiston in time to see the Canadian Geese going off to roost. We hoped to see an owl or two, but alas not to be. One can't be too greedy now can one ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.