The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Savannah strolling?

This solitary hawthorn on the sea wall of Warton Marsh always reminds me of an Acacia tortilis growing in the East African savannah. I set out to look for the glossy ibis that has been frequenting the marshy fields near Leighton Moss, but after another damp and sunless day I was distracted by the light shafting through the clouds on the south western horizon. I've had my eye on this hawthorn for a long time and couldn't pass up the opportunity for a good silhouette.

I never saw the ibis, which suggests that my commitment to blipping considerably exceeds my commitment to my 2011 bird list, and I have anyway long since lost track of how many birds I have seen this year. Keeping my list on my Blipfoto journal hasn't proved to be the most practical way of keeping track of progress.

I have Great Expectations about the highlight of tonight's TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.