Kat's eye view

By kats_eye

Pigs and fishes swimming in lines

I realised this morning that I was worried about what to blip today, and whether it would be any good. This is not unlike my feelings all the time about the all of my life. That I noticed this is partly perhaps due to the reflective process I've been going through lately, trying to learn to recognise my feelings and act on them.

So my thoughts for most of today were about the anxiety caused by pressure to perform, the drive to perfection and why I find it so hard to go with the flow, why I am so hard on myself.
<Only 1.5 weeks left to tie up my current job, and not leave it in a mess before starting the new one.>

Very very tired, hard to see clearly. None of the pictures were right. Work was an uphill struggle.

Looked up my Chinese horoscope on the internet, procrastinating again. Found that I am Water:
"Those of you born under the influence of the Chinese Astrology Element of Water act with the assured fluidity of a river, affecting your environment with your strength and quiet charm. Creative and captivating, diplomatic and intuitive, Water individuals are the masters of subtle persuasion. Without even appearing to try, you can gain someone's trust and affection, and once you've got them they'll follow you anywhere. You make everyone feel special, noting and praising each person's unique talents.

Your inherent pliability, the fluid calm that makes you so appealing, can also make you sometimes too passive, too willing to be what someone wants you to be. You tend to take the shape of whatever container you're poured into.Rather than letting others dam up your energies, let yourself flow freely!"

Then, despite the fact that it would be rushed, I knew that I wanted to make the time to go swimming, that I wanted to take a photo of the reflections in the overhead light refractors, of people swimming in lanes. Got there. No cubicles overlooking the water free, had to change round the corner.

Swam.
Had to stop thinking, can't find the breathing flow otherwise.

Walked up and down, found a free cubicle. Didn't think of the fact that camera would steam up. My reflector was not bright or clear, and the photos weren't like the image in my head. So I took this one. Was aware that in the current climate there would perhaps be suspicion surrounding a camera poking out under the cubicle. Luckily I wasn't spotted. I couldn't see what I was taking. Had to edit a man out, thought he might not like to be identifiable.

But there you are. Swimming in circles. In lines with curves at each end, always aware of the faster ones charging up behind you. Worrying that you are in the way, slowing someone down. But somehow still, it feels good. Somehow still, the breathing can happen automatically. Without thinking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.