Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Eye spy

It was another glorious summer day today. 25C (77F) so not too hot. Most of the beaches were open and there were quite a lot of people out enjoying themselves. It was also a day of ticking off the tasks. A visit to the hairdressers, a visit to the vet for Hannah (she has arthritis so more medication for her) and a quick trip to the shops - egad I got out of there quick smart with only one purchase.

The dogs got a walk at King Edward park (or a stand for Hannah) and I noticed a Kestrel hunting. I took quite a few shots but none that I was really happy about.

On the long way back home via the beaches I found this other Kestrel, I stalked him/her for about 5 km (3 miles). Imagine me driving along, finding a park, getting out of the car, shooting, bird moves further south, hop back into the car, drive further down, park car, get out of car and shoot, bird moves further south. You get the picture.... I got after all that about 4 shots I was happy with and by that time I had worked out it's hunting pattern. After 5 km bird flew over the cliff and down to Burwood beach safely out of my reach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.