Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Schiehallion Sunrise

Sent RCB out himself this morning. He was still chasing a Ptarmigan for his year list, which meant another ascent of Schiehallion and which given the weather forecast meant an early start but that also fitted in with getting on the hill early before other walkers scattered the birds. So here's RCB's account of the day:

Alarm 6:00, departed Perth 6:35, departed Braes of Foss Car Park 7:50. Obviously most of the precipitation since our last Ptarmigan hunt had fallen as snow and given that sunrise wasn't until 8:47 following the excellent path was a tad problematical and eventually given up in favour of simply following where the heather poked through the snow, but even then sinking knee deep was unavoidable at times.

Got some fine sunrise photos for Longshanks then just half an hour later heard and then eventually found a superbly camouflaged male Ptarmigan. Watched him for five minutes and took a few photos before he wandered out of sight and then flew off. Happy with this sighting and while the weather was still good I headed back down, I then heard another Ptarmigan call. Again it wasn't that easy to locate, but I eventually found two males, relatively close by. So settled down to watch this pair, they seemed quite unperturbed by my presence; I got a fair few photos (200+) the best of which of a single Male Ptarmigan in white winter plumage I've posted in my journal.

Eventually after quarter of an hour with the birds still close by I put the camera away and continued on down. Only then did I meet the first of other groups climbing the hill. They were quite impressed that I was descending and it was not yet 10:00, but I did point out I'd only gone as high as needed to find the Ptarmigan. I hope the forecasted heavy snow for after 11:00 held off for them and the other groups on the hill, especially the three that were leaving the car park at 10:30!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.