RedCoatedBirder

By RedCoatedBirder

Goosander (Male)

Perth 13:08

Birds Photographed in 2011 (To End December)

November B/Fwd 271

272 Ruddy Duck 01-Dec
273 Blue-winged Teal 05-Dec
274 Western Sandpiper 06-Dec
275 Temminck's Stint 07-Dec
276 Jack Snipe 10-Dec
277 Marsh Tit 12-Dec
278 Willow Tit 12-Dec
279 Lesser Scaup 20-Dec
280 White Stork 21-Dec
281 Ptarmigan 30-Dec

Additional for the year list seen/heard, but not photographed

282 Golden Oriole (H) 07-Jun
283 Quail (H) 18-Jun
284 Corncrake (H) 28-Jun
285 Tawny Owl (H) 20-Sep
286 Dusky Warbler 28-Oct
287 Merlin 02-Nov
288 Hen Harrier 04-Nov
289 Lesser Spotted Woodpecker 28-Nov
290 Sharp-tailed Sandpiper 30-Nov


So there we are, the 2011 challenge is over - there are some pretty dire pictures among those published and there are some "interesting" juvenile plumages, but there are also a few cracking bird shots and some great memories.

I hadn't realised how this simple project at the start of the year would turn into the "demonic child" that would have us travelling all over the country seeking out rarer birds. I'm sure our cars will be breathing a sigh of relief that 2011 is over.

So what for 2012? It almost seems like a second retirement - what am I going to do to fill my time? Well I'm sure the answer will be similar to my first retirement - there are never enough hours in the day to do what you want to do. I envisage a bit more time on the bike and a lot less time in the car, a bit more time around the house doing those jobs that I've been putting off and have I mentioned that my Birding Life List is only 295 (yup, only 5 more than the 2011 Year List) - so the chasing round after rarer birds won't just be stopping.

I'll continue posting bird pictures in this journal, but no restrictions on species & plumage, just simply the best picture from the day and that could be on a photographic or a rarity basis and there will now be non-birdwatching days where there'll be no picture at all.

Many thanks to those that even though I turned off comments and stars on this journal except on my blip-birthdays have made it touchingly clear how much they've enjoyed following this challenge, that has actually been quite inspirational - thank you.

So here's to 2012, I wish you all a very Happy New Year, may the god of blip inspiration be with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.