horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

365 Posted

For the first time since joining Blipfoto (in August 2008 I think it was) I've managed a full calendar year. Actually, I've now not got a gap since 17th December last year. All of which coincided with (as I've written before) not getting hung up on views or comments, and simply using this as a place and way of recording what I've been doing. I love the 'year ago' tabs.

So I can't see there being a break any time soon really. Today we managed to get out along the Firth of Forth from South Queensferry for a couple of hours before the murk descended. I think I've added to my year's bird tally, unexpectedly, if this is a Black Throated Diver in its winter plumage (it might be a Great Northern Diver in first winter coat, but I don't thiiiiink so - waiting to be proved wrong in a couple of places). EDIT: Appears to be a winter Red Throated Diver.

Tomorrow we're off down to Newcastle to see my family, dragging Mel's dad along with us (actually, he seemed really keen on the idea - I think it got him out of having to go somewhere tonight). Newcastle or not we would have had a quiet one - I'm not really one for New Year, Christmas was always the big one in our house.

But I will usher in 2012 in muted optimism of my own (arbitrary line in the sand that it is) with, for once, concrete plans involving a superbly talented graphic designer friend. Oh, AND the fact that there ware two days off work to start the year. That always helps.

Have a good one whatever you're doing. I'm not going to make any rash promises about managing to comment on other people's blips more next year than I managed this year, but I'll try. Honest. I will.

Meilleurs v?ux à tous!

p.s. I've no idea what the protruding posts were in various places along the coast of the Dalmeny estate. My best guess is old oyster beds (given there were plenty of oyster shells lying about they are certainly in the area), but others may know better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.