Capital adventures

By marchmont

A Guid New Year to yin an' a' and mony may you see

Blipmeet, Blackford Hill. I wasn't going to go and then, at the last minute, I decided I would so fell out of bed at 10.30, showered, grabbed a taxi and got to the top of the hill just after 11 (following in the footsteps of Meles and DaveH) to join Mollycollie and the merry band of blippers but sans glasses (so had to squint to see the stupendous view) and sans SD card (but I always carry spare in my purse these days).

I didn't blip the group, many other people did, so I blipped the view to the Castle where in a 6 hours the fireworks will herald 2012. It was good see old friends and meet new ones, Bassrock Bob and Jon Davey. What a great way to end a bliptastic year - thanks Molly (and Ann) for organising. We didn't linger long though as we were in danger of being blown off.

I walked home (downhill!) and bought my 2012 diary on the way. Fidelma wrote about diaries in her column today - clearly a Hogmanay kind of thing.

Then it was lunch watching the Sydney fireworks at 1 p.m. here, 15 minutes of pyrotechnic splendour shown in its entirety on the BBC News Channel. I've seen it twice live but and it is spectacular. The bonus of seeing it on the TV is that you get the aerial shots which mean you see all the barges and the bridge. £4m in one 15 minute blast. Happy New Year, Oz.

Back out and across the Links (putting the rubbish out on the way, my one concession to the traditional Hogmanay redding out and cleaning) for 2 cafes creme and a tarte aux fruits with C at La Barantine. It was full of French students/tourists taking photos and generally enjoying themselves - une bonne annee a tous! The galettes des rois are on sale a week early!

E came round with my birthday present and a couple of forms and now she's gone I have to decide what I'm wearing to-night - off to the Sunday Brunch Club Hogmanay Ball at the Point. I'm not really in the mood as I'm not looking forward to 2012. I know it is going to be very hard and challenging for me and full of things in which I'd rather not participate but I don't have any choice so I'll just have to get on with it. However, I may find it difficult to say 'Happy' New Year and mean it. But I will get to see the Edinburgh fireworks.

Re the sartorial elegance, if all else fails, I'll wear what I wore last year - no-one will notice!

So happy new year fellow blippers, may it bring you peace, joy and good fortune and lots and lots of blipmeets! See you in 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.