Captivating

By katish

2011

I know I've been away for awhile, folks. I'm taking a leave of absence. I apologize for leaving without a word! I wanted to reflect on 2011 though. It was a crazy, rollercoaster of a year. Just to think, I went into my 21st year of life completely unaware of what I was in for! It was undoubtedly the most trying year of my life thus far-emotionally, mentally, spiritually, thankfully not so much physically. And not only my personal life, but to think about all the crazy things that have happened in the world--the quakes in New Zealand and Japan, flooding in Australia, the rebellions in Africa, Osama bin Laden being killed, the tornadoes in the U.S. that completely devastated certain areas...what a crazy, crazy year.

I consider myself lucky that what I consider to be the worst year of my life are meager troubles compared with those in the rest of the world. I know I am very blessed to live the life I do. If my stress comes from my education, and my social situations, then I can't really complain. Still, it has been a lot for me to handle...quite hellish actually. But I think it is in those times, when you're in the fire, that you grow. It's unfortunate that you have to go through pain to learn, but sometimes it's the only way.

It was the year of Taylor Swift. Speak Now got me through this year, alongside some other artists but I always go back to her. I experienced my first heartbreak. It's the worst kind of pain, but it's amazing that what doesn't kill you really does make you stronger. And I am better for it. Besides, have you really lived if you haven't experienced it? And my heart broke when I couldn't be there for my family, both when my cat passed away and when my grandmother passed away.

I wrote my undergraduate thesis. I never thought I would get that thing done, and amazingly, one day it was finished! I presented it to a thesis committee and at an undergraduate research seminar. This is one of the things that I am most proud of myself for. I also graduated from college. I went brunette. And later I chopped my hair off. I had a spring break in Florida, and I finally went snorkeling, and loved it! I moved back home for the summer. I got to chill with my friends back home, travel around New England, to Virginia, and to New York, upstate and the city. I took a cross country road trip. What a beautiful country I live in. I moved to a new state. Washington. I broke my finger there, and had surgery to correct it. I have never been more thankful to have the full use of my hand without a splint on it! I made it through my first quarter of grad school here. I made some great friends. I tried sushi again...and liked it. And of course, I saw Taylor Swift in concert :) One of the best nights of my life.

-I have learned that life is not what you expect it to be.
-You have to take advantage of the opportunities presented to you.
-That the seasons of life really do change.
-That sometimes letting go might be the only way, and that it is hard.
-That I'm stronger than I thought I was...or maybe that God is much greater than I gave him credit for previously.
-And that I am weak in certain areas too.
-That it's good to cry sometimes.
-That it's good to get angry sometimes.
-That you can't please everyone.
-That time is precious. You have to decide how you are going to invest it.
-That time heals all things, but the scars remain. And time is not an easy answer to pain.
-That forgiveness is healing, especially when it is allowed to you.
-That you have to focus on the people that love you. I am fortunate to have a wonderful family...despite our differences, I love them very much.
-That the beauty of the mountains never gets old. I hope it never gets old.

It was a rough year, but a good year too. A growing year. Here's to 2012, may it be filled with hope, and new adventures to discover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.