Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Sulphur-crested

Today I went in to work briefly, and afterwards popped in to Fresh at Leura - one of the few cafes whose coffee I can happily drink, and who roast and sell their own beans. Between Fresh and where I had parked the car, I encountered this striking fellow/lady,Man's snapped off a few photos.

In Filterstorm Pro I cropped the original pic to 2:3, then sharpened it moderately. I decided to apply the sharpening just to the cockatoo, and did so by way of the colour-match tool. The effect of that was to create another layer with the sharpen filter, and a layer mask affecting just the white (within a range) in the image. I then edited the layer mask, erasing all the bits around the bird. Then I set the blend mode to 'screen', so as to lighten/brighten the feathers, and brought the opacity down to perhaps 2/3. Finally I raised the contrast in that layer - which because of the mask meant it only applied to the feathers, leaving the rest of the image untouched.

... Then I decided that had blown out some of the breast feathers and lost some detail. Also, looking again at it, I decided to go with the original 4:3 image. This time then, all I did was paint on a mild sharpen filter to the cockie, and then pull down the luminance curve for everything else.

Simpler. Betterer.

Here's the unprocessed version.

Large version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.