Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

A Mug With A Mug

Jon Bekken has been a strong voice in Anarcho-syndicalism and in the Industrial Workers of the World for over 30 years. Some would compare him to the Rock of Gibraltar for his dedication and the huge amount of work he's done, while others would compare him to the bubonic plague and will breathe fire at the mention of his name.

I was having tea in the morning at Jon's place and his wife showed me the tall mugs her brother had made, with Jon's mug etched on them. I joked that "Now it's officially a cult! You're the Anarchist Jim Jones!"

Happily Jon is not a cult leader, although I, for one, have been called a Bekkenite a good many times. As a joke I think it works pretty well (and the maker of the mug was cultivating the joke), so I asked him to pose, with his glass mug accompanying his real mug for posterity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.