Let There Be Light

By solli

The Leucistic Wonder Bird

The adjustment to the feeders and the number of retweets on twitter brought this mottled sparrow back to my yard. I hadn't seen him for at least a month and was starting to wonder if I ever would! I have no idea of his proper name; I checked Whatbird but nothing seems to match him. He perched on the rose bush for a short time, shyly looking around, but he didn't venture any closer to the feeders.

"Wonder" really deserves a blip of his own but that other bird must've heard about the Nature & Wildlife group's January Wing 2012 challenge and I was in no position to refuse him. now that I found out who he is. Pom also showed up but he completely ignored the niger seed, instead opting for sunflower. Oh well, at least he's still visiting.

Please enjoy another picture of Wonder. I'm hoping someone can help identify him.

Update:
Big thanks to dbifulco for reminding me of the Cornell Lab of Orinthology as a source of identification on Facebook. I posted a picture and they said it was a Leucistic House Sparrow. Now I know. Debbi, you're wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.