earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Wharfe in Spate

I enjoyed a wonderful little blipmeet last night with Yearofhappy and PaulFS (offering thanks to Rach for making this happen because us guys are hopeless it seems at organising get-togethers). We indulged in lots of blipbanter and, as is the usually the case on these occasions, it was all the most wonderful lovefest! I can confirm that these two blippers are both as lovely in person as their journals would suggest. And Paul seemed nothing like as shy as he makes out he is. I can also tell you that he walks very fast! The quick pace got me to the station in time (just), but all to no avail because there were no trains home. Another tree had come down on the line. When I eventually made it back the boys had dinner ready for me, which as well as being a lovely surprise was also rather tasty. This is a very healthy precedent in many respects.

The strength of the wind was amazing last night. I did actually fear for the well-being off my floor to ceiling glass windows in the studio. They were taking one hell of a battering and it was hard to get to sleep for the noise. I decided to take a quick walk down to the river before work but my timing was off for once because I got drowned in a very heavy shower. The sun came out this afternoon but I managed to resist the lure of the blue skies. Too much work to do in the first instance, but also because this shot, despite being taken in rather poor light and rain, captures rather well the amount of water flowing through the valley this morning. With its vast catchment in the Yorkshire Dales, the Wharfe rises more rapidly than any other river in the country. It really can be quite a fearsome beast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.