Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Fishing for Trout

Finally, a day without grey skies. Much colder, yes, but the rays of the sunshine were still emitting welcome warmth on my skin.
Dressed to meet a friend earlier in the morning, my suede shoes weren't adapt for a walk in the mud, so I chose to take the dogs around Albury lakes... almost the boggiest place I know of!

My aim had been to photograph the Little Egret that now lives around the banks, fishing from the river that feeds the man made lakes.
The cockers flushed it twice on our rounds, reminding me not to walk the dogs until I've taken the shot I want. Oh well, it doesn't go far and it will be for another day.

For what ever reason, my woman's brain can't really understand fishing, just for the fun of it, in the middle of winter. There were however three men enjoying their morning, well clad in the latest fisherman's style, around the lakes. The first was casting furiously and his line made extra special curves for the camera, but the light was sadly not good where he stood.

This gentleman was prepared for the chill.
His hands were rather blue when I greeted him and it wasn't his gloves. At the time he was struggling to taking a feathered hook from the mouth of a good sized little trout and another one was already laid out on the grass beside his little stool . When I commented that it must be a little cold with wet, fishy hands, he demonstrated his hand warmers, fuelled with lighter fluid to me. A gift from his son for Christmas.

Fishing on the smallest of the three lakes, I ask if he'd mind my taking a photograph as he cast. The light was great, he agreed and this is my shot. Five minutes later I also shot his next catch which I'll link up when I get it uploaded.

Now I'd better go and salvage my shoes!






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.