This Cruel Country

This cruel country has driven me down
Teased me and lied, teased me and lied
I've only sad stories to tell to this town
My dreams have withered and died

OK, a bit of an over-reaction, but It's beyond doubt. I have a cold. Sore throat, runny bloody nose. Blow blow blow. Cough. Chapped lips. And feeling all shivery cold. Maybe that's what three days at work does to a body.

I'm also getting suspicious here. There's an influx of new people planned for next week. I suspect that these may be cheaper (fixed term) replacements for people who are more expensive. Older people who, due to the possession of a great deal of wisdom and experience, inevitably come at a price. Mind you, a study just out claims to show that the brain's ability to function can start to deteriorate as early as 45! I saw that today. Or was it yesterday?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.