Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

David Octavius Hill, Scot. Nat. Portrait Gallery

I was eager to return to the Scottish National Portrait Gallery today as it has been open for over a month now, and I hadn't had a really good chance to have a look around.

As the offspring went off in search of the company of friends, I had just over an hour to spare between 'Mum's Taxi Runs' to pop in there and have a better look around. The only place you're allowed to take photographs is in the central atrium. Armed with only the iPhone camera, I decided that it was perhaps appropriate to take a photograph of the bust of David Octavius Hill, artist and an early pioneer of photography. Between 1843 and 1847 he took some 3,000 photographs (it said on the nearby sign).

With the advent of digital photography I probably take around 3,000 photographs a year. No wonder I'm sometimes in a frightful muddle with them all.

But you MUST go and pay a visit to the Scottish National Portrait Gallery - it's a wonderful renovation of a previously unloved building. Right now it's all shining brightly and there are amazing things to see. Including a selection from the vast photographic archives which it has to display. I've still got a few visits to go before I can say I've been right through the exhibitions. Wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.