Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Moses & Elijah

So, my biggest (and one of my oldest) ratties meets my youngest (and one of my smallest) ratties! Moses is just over 2 years old and weighs 700g, Elijah is just over 6 weeks old and weighs 190g.

Moses, you've all met before, many times! He had a phase of being a bit sleepy and shy, but seems to have become more lively recently - perhaps the arrival of new little friends is rejuvenating him!

Elijah, I brought home last night! He's UTTERLY gorgeous, and so soft with his little baby coat still. He seems to be a confident little fellow, and was perfectly happy to say hello to Moses on my knee earlier today. It's been quite an arrival day for him today, but he seems to be taking it all in his stride - brilliant little chap!

Today I've been somewhat tired after a late night last night. Not surprising really, since unfit 40-year olds really shouldn't be quite as lively as I am, but I refuse to join the pipe and slippers brigade, and will focus on getting fitter and weller all the time so that I become increasingly able to cope with late nights and fun times! However, I have to do it one step at a time, so it won't be instantaneous!!!

This afternoon I did a cage swap. Charlie and Moses went into the little boys' cage for around 20 minutes, while the little boys went into their big cage for an explore. Charlie & Moses pootled round and sniffed everything, much as they do when their own cage is cleaned, and the little lads went BEZERK, climbing, running around, and jumping in ways that Charlie and Moses never do, like small kiddies in an adventure playground. SO entertaining.

After a while, so as not to allow them to get TOO overexcited, they all went home. I shall see how far to go tomorrow, when I'm around in my study most of the day to supervise. It would be good to get them all moved in together as soon as possible, but I don't want to rush it and cause them unnecessary stress.

As for this old human, I think she'll be having an early night tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.