Northern Exposure

By Northern

Hot and steamy

Another day of pottering and cooking.

Spent a while this morning rummaging through recipe books for things to do with eggs and an otherwise bare larder. Somehow we've managed to use up all sorts of basics like flour and butter and potatoes. Even the freezer was full of odd stuff like blueberries, 6 boxes of mini pakora and something that looked as if it might have been leftover lasagne once upon a time.

Eventually I went for a big pot of italian(ish) bean soup which was very tasty and filling and nutritious but used no eggs whatsoever. We had some for lunch and will now have some more for dinner. I shall also attempt some baked eggs with cheese, not tried those before - fingers crossed they will be tasty.

It's a very exciting blip isn't it? I did attempt to take covert photographs for the boys and their pals who were making movie about secret agents in the shed but the cat gave me away and I was sent packing from the set.


.....


Edit - the baked eggs were fantastic, I think they may well become a regular feature during egg gluts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.