Arch and Steps

Last week we were due to go to Dublin to see an exhibition of Victorian photography from China. It didn't happen as I wasn't feeling the best. We went today instead, so to all my Irish friends, get yourselves along to The Chester Beatty Library at the rear of Dublin Castle to see "China, through the lens of John Thomson 1868-1872". An exhibition of 50 or so prints from glass plates, the show represents an era long gone and an interesting commentry on just where China has come from.
While you are there you might also see this archway just outside the walls of the Castle. Indeed I do believe that it has already featured in another blipfolio. The plaque on the left hand wall announces that just 30 metres from this spot was born in 1667 one of Ireland's and indeed the world's greatest authors, poets and satirists, Dean Jonathan Swift who is buried in the cathedral in which he laboured for many years, St. Patrick's which is only a short ealk from his birthplace.

I am pooped after the trip as I haven't fully recovered from the dose which prevented me from going to the exhibition last week, so I know you will excuse me if I don't do much commenting tonight. The bed looks awfully inviting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.