Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Duck Melee

Not a lot about this morning to inspire a blipper. Even when I was out for my run everything seemed to be a shade of grey and wet from the drizzle.

However, by the time I was at the shop for my paper some brighter grey appeared and I headed down to the pier. There were well over a hundred Eider Ducks swimming about and making their usual loud noises. As I have mentioned before, the Eiders are hard to blip as they are constantly on the move and bobbing about. Also, without a lot of light it can be hard to get good colour and definition. Not ideal for blipping but I gave it a go.

Every minute or so one of the Eiders would lift itself up from the water and flap its wings. I would love to capture this moment, but it will take a bright day and lots of patience. They also squabble a lot with one duck chasing after another while others get out of the way. Today's blip captures one of these moments as a female goes for a male while others look on impassively. I quite liked the pink breasts of the drakes and the droplets of water (best seen in LARGE) in the splashes from the melee.

Print/slide evening at the Camera Club later on the topic of Rain. After all the weather we have had I am not short of a few blips to take along!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.