The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Unusual Animals In Wiltshire Fields #10

It isn't uncommon to see sheep grazing on Silbury Hill but I hadn't seen a flock of black sheep there before - in fact I'm not sure I've seen a whole flock of them before at all.

They were all scattered about on the hill when we arrived, but as we walked up to the gate a large contingency of them came swarming over to greet us.

I've chosen this for the blip as I wanted Silbury Hill to be recognisable as well as to show the boldest of the greeting committee.

Edit: Research reveals that these are Black Welsh Mountain sheep, a rare breed. There are about 9,000 of these in the world, so this now becomes one of my Unusual Animals In Wiltshire Fields series.

Blip #598
Consecutive Blip #019
Day #658

Alternatives:
Do You Have More Grass?
Alpha Female #1
Alpha Female #2
Horned Sheep Close-up

Black Sheep On Silbury Hill (Flickr set)

Lenses: 17-70mm Pentax, 70-300mm Sigma

Unusual Animals In Wiltshire Fields series

Silbury Hill series

One year ago: Sutton Park

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.