Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Tchaikovsky

I want to tell a really nice blip story today. One of the journals I've been following is freespiral . She lives in Ireland and loves to poke around old building sites and has the most interesting witty and informative writeups. Sometime last year (summer??? can't remember) she blipped a picture of her brother, Barry Purves, who is a famous writer, director and animator in the UK, getting a doctorate degree in a lovely bright red hat- and posted his website. I had a great time looking at his films and learning about his fabulous claymation What an artist! Later on I posted a blip with some reference to Wind in the Willows and Freespiral wrote to tell me her brother Barry and done a film of Wind in the Willow too- very fun! His newest film was Tchaikovsky- about to be released. Months went by. And one day Freespiral wrote to say she'd spoken to her brother about me and my interest and if I would write him (link provided) he might be able to send me a copy of Tchaikovsky. We managed to connect with email and about a week before Christmas I had a note that he had sent me a copy of the new Tchaikovsky film in the mail- don't hold my breath that it would be there for Christmas. It arrived on Dec 23rd!! What a gift!! It's wonderful!! 13 minutes of amazing animation, music, visual elegance and story of a tormented soul who was saved by his music (that's my take anyway...)
I sat my 3 grandchildren down on Dec 24th when they were bouncing off the ceiling with excitement over Christmas and they were glued to the screen with all sorts of comments like how it takes such a very long time to make this (well yes, maybe 10 seconds worth of film a day?)and didn't they have to take his eyeball out to turn his eye and did the animator know how to play the piano and oh my they knew that music (Nutcracker). It was such fun. I've showed it to many other people - it doesn't play on my dvd player (a different European format??) but is great on the laptop (which I can connect to the tv) One of Freespiral's sons is camera man, and more.. what a talented family! And it's no wonder there is great interest in film and we can benefit from lots of her reviews on blip. I'll definitely be looking for more of Barry's films - maybe we'll see him at the Oscars!
I just wanted to share what a great enriching experience I would never have had were it not for Blip! Isn't this a wonderful place? Thank you Amanda and Barry!! If you want to see for yourself, and learn lots more I just couldn't include here, go to Barry Purves' website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.