Thoughts of children long gone

As part of my research into the history of the school, I had a snoop around the old building, which  is next door to the new and sadly falling into a ruinous state.  Legal snooping!!! Very melancholy to go inside though, the windows are boarded up and glass smashed; the damp is palpable, it's warmer outside than it is in; teenagers have used it for a drinking den and empty bottles lie in the fireplaces that used to warm the children. These old coat pegs are original (1937) and were in use until 2007 when we moved to our new school. There's something very attractive about them - and how many children hung their coats and PE kits from them? Intriguing how the numbers jump from 14 to 19 though and I'm not sure about the salmon pink.

I've only worked officially for an hour today but it seems to have been non-stop catching up with everything else. I'm off for a giant pizza with Margaret, an ex colleague and good friend, and the talk will be mighty.

Other news- my book of poems by Chaiselongue arrived - In Sight of the Sea - recommended by Kendall and I am looking forward to curling up with it later. It looks wonderful..
I'm also much enjoying  abook recommended by  friedaquilter called Message in a Bottle - an intriguing read.  And Nannak  has just written a lovely journal entry about her connection with my brother! What a wonderful community Blip is!! Catch you later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.