Slow way home

By Slowwayhome

Sea lion show - BYO paddles

Today we experienced one of the highlights of our South American adventure so far with a half day kayaking trip to the sea lion colony at Punta Loma.

Jo was up front and I was happy to be up back juggling the steering of the vessel and my camera at the same time. After about a 45 minute paddle we arrived at the colony and with the sea as flat as a pancake the sea lions were happy to frolick all around the kayaks. They are lovely creatures with a playful personality.

After a brief rest at a deserted beach with churros to eat and mate (like herbal tea) to drink we set off on the return journey. That's when I piloted the kayak a little too close to a male bull protecting his harem. He was only too happy to let me know who was boss in this neck of the sea.

All in all a superb day and despite my love for trekking and mountains I now have a sea kayaking expedition on my must do list for 2012.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.