Let There Be Light

By solli

Tutor The Lucky

White Tailed Deer - Odocoileus Virginianus

My friend from elementary school (class of '68) recently alerted me to some covert activity in Lenape Park, a woodsy area I'm fond of visiting.

Men in black, who drive all-terrain vehicles and carry large ladders out of the brush will always tilt my mind toward the dark side, but not wanting to appear paranoid I proposed the notion that the county officials might be conducting a deer census. It proved out that a deer hunt would be held every Monday for about a month and my friend cautioned me to be careful. "Warn the deer!" he said.

For the past week or three, I've been wondering what I might blip for my first 100th. It has been anxiety provoking to say the least since I'm no CS wizard. Today I finally gave up all thoughts of bubbles and numbers and decided instead to go with the natural flow. So what if it happens to be Friday the 13th!

I meandered through my morning and as the universe would have it, I came face to face with this proud six point buck. He saw me, stood stock-still then stamped his hoof in warning. Quite near to him was a young white tailed yearling whose rack was growing rather lopsidedly. I wasn't about to chance moving, so I apologize for that blur of a branch across Tutor's eye.

Did someone mention deer hunt? As I peered through my lens trying hard not to breathe, I caught a glimmering of silver on one of the antlers.

Tutor, you've been tagged! Now please, spread the word about Lenape Park!

View large to see his tag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.