Sleeping on Snow

This was my first purchase ever from Anthropologie when I was in high school. I positively loved this sweater with its colors and (don't judge me) sparkly sequins. What I loved most was the tag: sleeping on snow. So romantic (literarily speaking, mind you). I'm pretty sure it inspired a few poems when I was a junior in high school. Gosh, the poems I used to write. I'm embarrassed by most of them.. so I won't share, but it's still a nice keepsake to have.

I decided that it's time to clean out my closet and my drawers and give away (or, rather, sell) clothes that I haven't worn in two years, three years.... ten years. Why do I still have clothes that I haven't worn in ten years? Because I have an emotional attachment to them. Memories get stirred and I recall how beautiful I felt in them or where I went or where I was going to go in them. And some of them were necessary for work that are no longer practical to me now. I wouldn't wear some of the clothes to work now as styles have changed and so have I.

So here's a token of the cleaning out I am doing in my apartment. Getting rid of things that will never be so I don't have to be reminded of them anymore. No more emotional debris for ol' Liz. And by cleaning out the clothes I will never wear, I can make room for new shopping trips! Because I do need updated work clothes.. I'm a professional student-doctor.. and I love looking nice. (Scrubs - I do not care for thee.)

---------

Today's takeaway from Ethics class: "You will not always find the answers, so you must learn to love the questions."

---------

Homeward bound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.