my journal

By zuma

Run for cancer

Terry Fox Run

Terry Fox Run 2012 was held today in Singapore and I ran 10km. It was a beautiful morning when the event started and we all ran by the beach on the east coast following the sunrise. The weather was about 28 °C with 80% humidity (as usual) and it was getting tougher to run in the end.

I took this photo right after the run. I sat under the big tree for the shade looking at the sea and enjoying chilled apples and Canadian cookies given for refreshment for a while. It was a great event to participate and I felt a bit emotional.

Terry Fox was a Canadian humanitarian, athlete, and cancer research activist. Diagnosed with osteosarcoma, he continued to run using an artificial leg and raised money for cancer research until he passed away. Details on Terry Fox are here >>Terry Fox Foundation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.