Beeeze

By beeeze

Orange

The Orange

By Wendy Cope


At lunchtime I bought a huge orange
The size of it made us all laugh.
I peeled it and shared it with Robert and Dave-
They got quarters and I had a half.


And that orange it made me so happy,
As ordinary things often do
Just lately. The shopping. A walk in the park
This is peace and contentment. It's new.


The rest of the day was quite easy.
I did all my jobs on my list
And enjoyed them and had some time over.
I love you. I'm glad I exist.

***

Went up the local hill this morning armed with my camera to take some shots of a couple of shetland ponies I've seen up there. Slight schoolboy error - left the memory card in my laptop. So this is an emergency indoor blip because I felt I couldn't post another frosty one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.