EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

3 generations in the Arab Spring Sun

9 days from now, marks the 1 year anniversary of Egypt's 25th January Revolution.

I vividly recall sitting in front of the TV, watching 'Live' reports on Tahrir Square, my mobile constantly ringing, meeting friends and discussing hourly updates we recieved from the World's media and people around us.

Almost one year has passed and Egypt has become a household name across the World and a major part of the 'Arab Spring'.

The streets of Luxor felt divided today. Sadness and uncertainty have created a desperation for survival. While others seem happy, playful and content.

Animals have and will continue to become thin.

Young children work on the streets selling tea, tissues and banana skin bookmarks.

The 7 year old shoe shine boy that speaks perfect English and understands it enough to make me laugh, as he walks with me along the Corniche. 'I don't need to go to school, I will be a shoeshine boy all my life' he tells me.

A child unable to control a horse that pulls the Hantour (Caleche) and so whips it continuously.

Taxi, felucca, caleche and motorboat touts jump out from the people passing, a steady stream of men trying to earn a living from the very few Tourists that are here - Just 70 arrived on a flight from the UK today.

I sat for a while in Abu El Hagag Square, to gather my thoughts and to 'Watch' the people, really watch.

Famalies playing ball with their children, men heading to the Mosque, men and women sitting quietly together, picnics on the grass or simply stopping for a rest and having a cigarette.
These ladies intrigued me. 3 generations, enjoying the Winter sunshine, and possibly contemplating what will happen to their beloved Country.

Why did I write about this today? I showed an Egyptian lady and her colleague my Blip Journal and she said that she did not recognise her Country through my photo's.
It made me realise that Luxor has so many facets and I will endeavor to share them with you.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.