an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

16. big cities

though few people here in the us (or even abroad) realize it, texas actually has more cities in the top 20 population wise than any other state. there are six, compared to california's four.

houston is 4, and has never been a favorite part of my texas for me. but many swear by it, and to be fair, I haven't spent a ton of time there.

san antonio is 7, and a stronghold of hispanic culture in texas. also home of the riverwalk and the alamo.

dallas is 9, and one of the two cities I grew up sandwiched between. much to love, but also room for improvement.

austin is 14, and what is there to say? home away from home, where my heart will always live. i didn't want to leave and i'll always want to go back. it's the capital of texas and the shining jewel, too.

fort worth is 16, and dallas' better and smaller neighbor. my home now, and full of fond memories and so much great progress since I lived here last.

el paso is 19, and last. another city I have passed through more than I have stopped, and another stronghold of hispanic culture. and, less positively, a contentious border.

so there is so much here, from remote to decidedly urban. options.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.