The second half of life..

By twigs

Perfect start to a perfect day

Yay! As planned, I managed to get myself up a bit before 5.00am, get organised then make a very sedate drive followed by a body-and-heart-warming walk to Wharariki Beach.

Stunning!

It was rather cold (yes - it is the middle of summer!) but fortunately I'd anticipated this might be the case and had wrapped up well as well as taking extra layers. The walk to the beach is always beautiful but today I felt kind of pioneering - the first to make the track on a new and stunning day. It was very special.

The wind often blows hard and long at this beach (which is why the sand dunes exist) but this time is was totally calm - not a breath of wind. The tide was rising and quite full but still plenty of space on the beach to set up for the shot I wanted. At this stage I have to confess that the shot I was after was to be a 'copy' of an award-winning image by another local photogrpaher and blipper which I instantly fell in love with when I first saw it. I'd decided I wanted to attempt a similar shot quite some time ago and I'm very pleased to say that today - I got it!!

On the walk back from the beach to the car park I inadvertently disturbed a kereru. It took off from the bush it had been resting in and settled in another bush a few metres away from me and within very easy shooting distance. Feeling like a stealth warrior I put my pack down, got out my camera, changed my lens . . . . . and all the while he monitored my every move but not once did he make to fly off. We shared a bit of a conversation about the morning, the stillness, the new day, the beauty that he lived amongst and I briefly visited and I swear he understood what I was saying. With the sun coming from a difficult direction he even allowed me to move along the track a little and shoot him from his other side. I felt so priveledged to be able to share this time with this magnificent bird and have him allow me to shoot so many images of him. Thank you Mr Kereru.

Back at my cabin by a bit after 8.00am - the rest of the camp just rising as I settle down to a lovely breakfast knowing that, even at this early hour, I'd seen some amazing things and achieved my day's goal.

Does it get any better than this? I think I could become a morning person if today's experience is anything to go by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.