Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Being tenderly cared for

I wasn't going to Blip today. I have slept most of the day, am taking antibiotics again, didn't feel like bothering to look for something to blip. But then.

Son S., bless him forever, showed up with three bags of groceries/supplies/kindness. He and his partner and baby went shopping in the rain for all this, plus fresh fish, yogurt, eggs, tapioca pudding, and (my secret vice) a box with three packets of frozen brown rice (individual servings, three minutes in the microwave and you're done). It was so thoughtful it moved me to tears. He hates it if I get emotional, so I tried to hold it back till he was gone. Nobody could ever have a better son. He makes my heart sing.

This blip won't make any records for its beauty but every item, pictured against the blue cold light of winter on the branches outside my window, speaks of thoughtfulness, love, and a deep knowledge of what, in the material world, can make me really happy. (Note the walnut crumb cake. The tapioca pudding. The fruit.)

I am actually feeling better tonight than I have since Friday morning, so I think it's clear it was a relapse of the bone infection and not a new virus. But S. just dropped off the groceries and left, no hugs, protecting his baby girl from any chance he might pick up germs and pass them to her. So thoughtful.

I am just a mass of grateful sobs. To all my Blip friends whose teenage children are driving them nuts: they might grow up to be very thoughtful adults, capable of making your heart sing again, much as they did when they were three.

P.S. Fotodiario just posted the most wonderful portrait. I am gasping in wonder. Don't miss it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.