MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Safari Day

I took over 1000 photos today. How am I to choose just 1?

I was at first very excited by the concept of seeing large, African wildlife. It's the kind of thing you only see in zoos! But I think the fun part was seeing everything else. The landscape stretched out forever, with clumps of Christmas cactus taller than the trees back home. There were salt lakes being mined. There were people in a fishing village disturbing huge flocks of African skimmers as they launched their boats into the Kazinga Channel. And there were many of these pied kingfishers along the banks of the river, overseeing the flowing water, the elephants, the hippos, buffalo and crocodiles. We saw two other species of kingfisher which were much more colorful, as well as about 30 other bird species, but I really like this photo. So that's all you get to see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.