Patrona

By patrona

Who needs it?

Wikipedia was unavailable today, a protest against Sopa and Pipa, I don't pretend to understand the subtleties of the bills before Congress but instinctively feel that Government interference in the Internet is to be deplored.

I actually very seldom use the Internet as an information source apart from searching for recipes, social media and news, preferring my well thumbed volumes of Collins, Roget's, Brewer and my favourite and well travelled New English Dictionary from 1932.

Call me old fashioned, the printed word still has more weight for me, and above all if it is incorrect or inaccurate it remains so for as long as the book is a reference, I like that, accuracy is too easily amended in the virtual world and editorialising is far too available and can be very sinister (imho)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.