Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Consequences

I got up early to catch the sunrise. When I got to the pool and beach, there was a beautiful reflection on the children's pool so that sealed the spot to wait out the sunrise. To my surprise, it was already occupied by about 7 photographers. Tney were a Flickr group and a really nice bunch at that too who let me join them. The reason they were there was because they normally hung around Redhead beach but there had been a shark attack yesterday and the beach was closed. I had noticed rescue helicopters yesterday evening but hadn't caught the news and didn't know what was going on. As it turns out (and typical of Newcastle) the guy that was attacked was someone I work with hairdresser's daughter's best friend's father. He, Lenny, is doing OK in hospital I understand but his surfboard has probably had it.

More photographers arrived and in the end, I counted 15 not including me. One of the swimmers at the pool asked me if it was a convention. Just the consequences of the shark attack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.