The Rites of Spring

Whenever I go out of the back door this little fella bursts into outrageous and extragavant song. Today he was sitting amidst the tangle of briars, wild roses and honeysuckle, warbling away. Himself says he sees me as a rival and is warning me off, but I think he is delighted to see me and treating me to the full range of his repetoire - I warble back of course. I was allowed quite close and was amazed to see the different postures required for the different notes - here he is in full throat!
Wild and blustery day but there must have been good fishing as there were lots of little boats out in the bay. Sadly, down in Union Hall families still wait to recover the bodies of the 5 fishermen lost since Monday.
I was too exhausted and headachey last night to see War Horse in the end but will go over the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.