earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Town and Country

Go Big

You shouldn't really be seeing a picture taken on Ilkley Moor today. I was expecting to post something colourful and predominantly green! But the universe seems to have conspired against me and, these days, I'm getting better at listening to the universe and going with the flow. Not that I actually had a lot of choice in the end! I think I was possibly in denial about being sick yesterday, and after much prevarication I had decided to ignore the signs and all your good advice and head off on my adventure anyway - until I went to the Ryanair on-line check-in and it wouldn't let me. I discovered that my passport expires on Sunday!

The stupid thing is that a passport isn't actually essential to travel but, not being a driver, I don't have any other kind of photo identification. The web site is so rigid that there was no way of proceeding any further. It was by this time late evening and there was nobody I could call. The charge for printing a boarding pass at the airport was actually more than the fare itself - even if I was able to charm my way through immigration. You get to a point where you have to admit that the universe might be trying to tell you something!

So, having spent most of yesterday working from home, looking longingly at my bed, I did actually get into it quite early, and was happy not to have to set the alarm for 5am! Heeding your wise words, I've spent a fair bit of time in it today too. You should consider this a sign of great respect - because I never do this. It's hard for me to admit defeat and give into a cold, but I'm beginning to understand that sometimes you just need to give the body a chance to marshal its forces against the invaders. The symptoms are all part of the healing process. With all the sore headedness, streaming nose and sneezing, I'm taking heart that a lot of healing must have gone on today! It's probably just as well I've not inflicted myself on anybody else.

I did of course still manage to get out for a run on the moor! Kidding!! For the sake of getting a blip other than a shot of my big toe sticking out from under the covers, I dragged myself out for a short walk on the moor, and did manage to catch the most fabulous light. I've chosen this picture to illustrate just how close the crags are to the town. I'm very lucky to have wilderness and civilisation sitting together in such wonderfully close proximity.

Finally, thanks to everyone for their kind comments and health advice yesterday, not to mention the stars and the hearts for yesterday's copse of trees. As a matter of interest, there was no texture applied in the background. That was just the sky, but with the subtle detail brought out through the processing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.