horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Fenced In

Run in with a taxi driver today. I said nothingthe whole encounter, which was spread over about a mile, which saw him cut me up as I was riding over the roughest cobbles in the city; beep as I filtered to the start of a queue; probably run a red light to ensure I didn't get away; break the speed limit (a given really); wind down his window to shout about abuse; weave through two lanes of traffic to shout abuse from the other side; before declaring ".... you look comical."

Oh. And he had a fare in the back the whole time. So what had I done to incur his wrath? Well as I passed, filtering to the head of the queue, after he'd completely cut me up virtually clipping the bars, I looked at his cab.

Seriously.

That's it.

Funny thing was, having ignored him, save for a hand gesture that you would be wrong in supposing what it was (I employed the universal gesture to indicate someone is rabbiting on rather than a single digital response - I don't like that, there's something... not nice... about it), I rolled into work feeling a lot lighter and happier than if I'd engaged in pointless conversation pointing out the error of his ways.

I wish I'd taken his number down.

The squirrel in the shot has been christened as 'Lucy' by my boss - so every lunchtime I'm asked if I'm going to see Lucy. Today... Yes... Lucy, you see, is the most friendly of the squirrels on my now-regular lunchtime wander. And when I say friendly... Sitting on knee friendly.

Staring
Knee Perch
Reaching for food
Nibble
Profile

One. More. Day. To. The. Weekend.

Our bathroom, having been ripped out, was supposed to be finished tomorrow, but turns out that was based on us having ceramic tiles. But we have porcelain tiles, which take longer to cut - so looks like we're spreading over the weekend, with them back on Monday for a couple of days. Ah well, going to be soooo much better when it's finished...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.